Being placed on a wait list for an event

Dani

21 Feb, 2014 08:06 AM

Hi,

I am new to the Seattle area, and new to the Mountaineers, which I had heard nothing but great things about, and was extremely excited to get involved with. But I have a question regarding being placed on the wait list of an event...

Is it never acceptable for an event to exceed it's maximum level of participants? Is it up to the leader of the event to decide? Is it inappropriate to email the leader and ask if they would be allowed to participate if someone knows they are the first person on the wait list? I am asking these questions because my boyfriend registered for an event and was the first person placed on the wait list. This was the first event ever we've tried to register for through the Mountaineers and were very excited!

He decided to write the event leader and this is what he wrote: "Hi, I just signed up for this hike, and it looks like I'm the first one on the wait list. My girlfriend is about to register as well, and we were wondering how strict you were about the number of people going. We would love to join you if you have room! Thanks!"

This is the exact response he received: "not really a good idea to ask this of leader ANSWER IS NO" from Barbara A. Price.

So I guess I have many questions regarding this, but mainly, is this a good representation of this association? Obviously this was a let down being our first event we'd tried to register for, and our apology if it was just insanely inappropriate to ask how strict the maximum number of participants was to this event.

Thank you for taking the time to read this. Would really love to know the policy regarding wait lists in the slight chance we ever decide to try to participate again. So unfortunate.

1. Support Staff 1 Posted by Tess Wendel on 21 Feb, 2014 11:35 PM

Hi Dani,